You are here

1,600 visitors turn out to discover the secrets of Palazzo Vai

A succcess measured in terms of 1600 registered visitors to the extraordinary opening of Palazzo Vai on 20-21 March 2015.

The extraordinary opening of Palazzo Vai on Saturday 20 and Sunday 21 March 2015 was an overwhelming succcess with 1600 registered visitors over the two days.  Le Giornate FAI di Primavera, a national annual initiative aimed at the preservation of Italy's artistic and cultural heritage, attracted an enthusiastic public many of whom were able to visit for the first time areas of the palazzo not normally open to the public including the deconsecrated church of Saint George, the former gaming rooms and entertaining spaces on the first floor as well as a private corridor leading to the ajoining theatre.

The opening on Saturday morning was proceeded by a public lecture at the Metastasio Theatre featuring Professor Ulisse Tramonti, from the University of Florence.  Professor Tramonti spoke about one of Italy's most famous architects of the 20th century, Italo Gamberini, who oversaw the fit-out of the first floor in the 1950s commissioned by the Misoduli, a literary and recreational club which was present right up until 1997, and which today is preserved by Belle Arti, Italy's equivalent of the Heritage Commission.